Renaissance Soul Podcast: Ep. 5 – The Sincerely, Detroit Episode (w/ Detroit Hip Hop Producer Apollo Brown)

Renaissance Soul Podcast: Ep. 5 - The Sincerely, Detroit Episode (w/ Detroit Hip Hop Producer Apollo Brown)

Renaissance Soul was originally a Detroit hip-hop website started in 2001 by your host Kelly “K-Fresh” Frazier that first centered around the discography of legendary producer Jay Dee aka J. Dilla before it branched out to all Detroit hip-hop and music. In many cases, Renaissance Soul was the first place you heard many Detroit music artists that you love today. With it’s revival as a podcast, each episode will focus on specific topics (an album, an era, a legacy, etc) from Detroit music of all genres from the past and present from a historical perspective.

LISTEN: Apple Podcast | Anchor | Spotify | Google Podcasts | IHeartRadio

For this episode, your host Kelly “K-Fresh” Frazier is joined by Detroit hip-hop producer Apollo Brown as we take a look at a very adventurous project of his, Sincerely, Detroit, released on November 8, 2019 via Mello Music Group. We talk about his motivation of doing such a project that included over 50 Detroit hip-hop artists over 21 tracks. Sincerely, Detroit is a love letter to the culture and its one of the most comprehensive looks at the various types of talent coming from Detroit’s music scene. As we go track-by-track during this episode (tracklist below), we hear stories from Apollo Brown about why he chose to include all these artists on this project. Sincerely, Detroit, just for the amount of artists having to coordinate for it coupled with its high quality of artistry, is something we never seen before and may never see again.

Purchase / Stream Sincerely, Detroit:

More info on Sincerely, Detroit pressings: Discogs

01. Fate
02. God Help Me (feat. Black Milk, Ketchphraze, & DJ Los)
03. Commas & Apostrophes (feat. Crown Nation)
04. Longevity (feat. Trick Trick, Marv Won, Moe Dirdee, & Dez Andres)
05. Thoughts In Mind (feat. Chris Orrick & Magestik Legend)
06. Stopwatch (feat. Elzhi, T. Calmese, Quest MCODY, & Melanie Rutherford)
07. Never (feat. Paradime, Miz Korona, & DJ AMF)
08. Lettin’ Go (feat. Finale, Illa J, & Leaf Erikson)
09. Dominance (feat. Aztek The Barfly, Kid Vishis, Vstylez, & DJ Los)
10. All Day (feat. Slum Village)
11. Oh Lord (feat. Fatt Father, Journalist 103, & Valid)
12. Deception & Woes (feat. Clear Soul Forces)
13. Over Do It (feat. Bronze Nazareth & Boldy James)
14. In The Water (feat. Boog Brown & Chavis Chandler)
15. 365 (feat. Ro Spit, Nametag, & Ty Farris)
16. The Backbone (feat. Guilty Simpson, Fat Ray, & Melanie Rutherford)
17. Jacksons (feat. Seven The General, Nick Speed, & Big Tone)
18. Can’t Lose (feat. Phat Kat, Royce Da 5’9″, & DJ Los)
19. Break The Code (feat. Supa Emcee, Kuniva, & Alexis Allon)
20. Skimmin’ (feat. Nolan The Ninja & Dopehead)
21. What Up (feat. 87, One Be Lo, & A-Minus)

All Songs Produced/Arranged by Apollo Brown

Follow Apollo Brown:

Subscribe on all major streaming platforms. Please rate and review on Apple Podcast and Stitcher.
List of where Renaissance Soul streams: or just search “Renaissance Soul”. Also available on IHeartRadio.

Courtesy of STEVE O. Check out more music at

Support via Patreon
If you want to support Fresh is the Word, please consider pledging via Patreon at
Fresh is the Word Patreon

Support via Paypal
If you don’t want to do Patreon, you can donate via Paypal: PayPal.Me/kfreshistheword

If you don’t have any money to spare, here’s a list of things you can do for free: